RAGPICKING

s

STREETWARE challenges fast-fashion by transforming discarded textiles into prêt-à-porter and creates “Social Sculpture”

 

“Ragpickers used to go from village to village, from urban street to street or alley, asking if anyone had something that they wanted to discard. He then purchased and collected textiles and other bits of fabric.”

As the creative minds and practitioners behind STREETWARE, we are rejuvenating this tradition and philosophising on the literal scrapheap, delving into the aesthetic dimensions of human existence.

This approach goes beyond textiles, beyond fabric, to consider modes of thinking and kinds of behaviour. Can white and black things be washed together?

Is discarded clothing a metaphor for a society that peels itself out of its skin in search of alternative economic and moral systems? Current challenges to humanity – environmental protection, the pandemic, immigration and discussions about the repercussions of colonialism, to name but a few – negate our notions of what can be taken for granted. We are then confronted, each and every one of us, with our own frailties.

s

Part and parcel of STREETWARE’s ethical concept of creating sustainable norms is the de-colonialisation of everyday life through visible diversity

 

As ragpickers, we see material found on the streets as an invitation to think about issues of identity, of how we consume; deliberating modes of production, how we define society and while gaining inspiration from the multitude of forms that up- and re-cycling can take. We investigate how material from the street can be reused and re-evaluated to try to meet community needs.

For people without a permanent home, those who are forced to flee from their homes in desperate situations.

For everyone.

We are active on an inter-generational level, considering issues ranging from deprivation to plentitude in our project.

s

STREETWARE functions both as a manufacturer and a source for ideas, a venue and place of exploration, a workshop and facilitator of communication. This activity brings people to an avant-garde laundrette which is inclusive while also being extravagant:

STREETWARE collects a wide range of resources to create a truly democratic space.

 

Since January 2021, STREETWARE has invited a variety of people from various segments of society to take an active part in this endeavour and participate in the production process. We aim to co-operate with local people who pass the word on, recycling companies, the textile industry, places that offer clothing to those who can’t afford it, sociologists, philosophers and artists.

We contact neighbours and contemplate, together how we can support homeless people. We conduct research and work where art, politics and society interact. We also co-operate with individuals and organisations on the island of Lesbos.

We work with organisations delving into a number of issues including techniques and methods of production and provide:

 

  • Textile architecture - The boundaries between the public and private realms no longer consist of exclusively of solid walls but can be a mattress on the pavement that forces passers-by to change their course. The day after, one can see remnants of what had been there. Together with homeless people, we will confront these often overlooked circumstances.
  • Grand-scale laundry – A series of events with various focal points: we’ll wash laundry together in public water fountains or mobile bathtubs. Various techniques for working with textiles will be examined and tried out; before and after comparisons can then be made / Experts will explain a gamut of aspects of fashion/ sustainability / methods of production // 
  • Guided tours As ragpickers, we walk through Berlin with laundry racks collecting textiles // We invite you join us!!

Hopefully, this will be a communicative occasion for activities like picnics, poetry, readings, choir & washboard concerts //

Here we proudly present our favourite pieces of the rag collection:

  • Identity Exchange – how do we feel when we wear clothing that came from the street? 
  • A series of Corona-compatible workshops/ performances will explore this idea.

  • We are planning a ragheap congressin July!
    If you’d like to participate or even give a presentation or lecture as an artist, craftsperson or someone who has given this issue a lot of thought, please do contact us at:
    waschsalon@streetware-saved-item.net
  • Material serves as the starting point for creating something newwhether it is fashion, a woven object, a stitched installation - anything is possible!
s

We always welcome new contacts and collaborations, and invite you to get in touch with us!

 

LUMPENSAMMLER:INNEN /WÄSCHER:INNEN

barbara caveng is an interdisciplinary working visual artist with a focus on three-dimensional artistic practice, participatory art, interventions and performances.

Find out more about her artistic work

Alice Fassina is a costume designer, whose artistic approach and work methods are based on sustainability and circular economy. She imparts her knowledge about alternative ways to fast fashion also as a guide for Green Fashion Tours.

Jan Markowsky was an engineer in the GDR, in East and West Berlin. Contact with opponents through dissidents in Jena after imprisonment of his brother Bernd who was detained related to Wolf Biermann's expatriation deported to West Berlin in 1984. Various jobs as energy consultant and engineer for building services. Left the office in January 2000 after a dispute with his boss, then left his apartment.

As a flexible and open-minded person, coped well overall with life without an apartment. Have had time to participate in preparing meals for the homeless, play theater, give lectures, participate in political committees. After a few years, regularly contributed to the social street magazine 'Strassenfeger' and later participated in 'Strassenfeger-radio'. During that time often photographed and interviewed.
Credo: I have nothing to hide, I can show myself!

Lotti Seebeck is an artist with a special interest in crossdisciplinary collaboration and performative research. Their work circles around the fusion of art and knowledge and its public/private/collective entanglement. They studied cultural sciences in Hildesheim and London and performance+media and Art in Context at UDK Berlin currently. 

Lukas Treiber is philosopher, freelance curator and art theorician. In the tradition of Critical Theory he thinks about the influences of NEGATIVITÄT on the process of perception and cognition of individuals. His main interest is to trace the absent in the present, to bring the seemingly invisible in people and things into the focus of observation/experience. In his planned dissertation project, he would like to investigate the extent to which a "language" of art can contribute to make the invisible more visible.

 

"STREETWARE is an interesting example of the effect of a language of art: through the transmission of discarded textiles into the context of art, things that have also lost their primacy in perception through the devaluing process of sorting out, become visible again. In a new context, the objects, whose history, diversity, potentiality and contingency have been lost in "everyday" use, are rehabilitated in the staging. This creates a space for new experiences and attribution of meaning. At the same time, a space for reflection opens up for the examination of identity, mentality, social practice and society. The artwork speaks to us."

Purvi Dhrangadhariya graduated with MA. Sustainability in Fashion and Creative Industrie. She has always been keen on Handicrafts, Textiles & Diverse Garments and the story they carry through generations. 'A beautiful handcrafted and decorated piece of the garment made with someone's hard work and love that once made your Mother or Grandmother felt confident and classy often ends up on the streets and now are slowly replaced by cheap clothes led by fast fashion that does fit the trend but not the legacy of Sustainability, Self-identity, or Love for Garments.'

My exploration lies in the apparel that represents someone's creativity and individuality adapting to this fast-moving world.

With an academic background in Cultural Studies and Urban Studies, Dr. Lina Tegtmeyer completed her PhD with a study on the changing semantics in visual representations of urban decay in the context of urban crises and tourism in the US. The interdisciplinary approach is critical towards „new urban tourism“ as alleged remedy for socio-financial shortcomings of the modern democratic nation state.

Currently, Dr. Tegtmeyer uses drawing as research method to explore the constraints and limits of scientific thinking and Enlightenment ideals within. As freelance researcher, Dr. Tegtmeyer brings this method of drawing research to streetware saved item in form of ethnographic drawing to A) accompany the processes of the project itself and B) locate the new phenomenon of excessed dumped clothes in urban space in Neukölln within the context of Urban Studies.

Aïcha Abbadi explores niche fashion practices and alternative ways of making and being in fashion. 

Exploring its boundaries, she reflects on the discipline itself: its narrative potential and poetry, the industry's complex social relations, its ethical and environmental shortcomings as well as its optimism, dedication and potential solutions.

Paolo Gallo Italian Photographer based in Berlin:

I'm fascinated by the everyday situations, I observe my surroundings in search of inspiration and experimentation.  

s

Special STREETshopping tour guide

Stella Cristofolinicultural scientist & artist, works at the intersection of theory/research and social practice & is interested in found objects, everyday objects, observing the city from different perspectives and practices of recycling in different social systems.

s

Those who have accompanied us

Mareen Butter looks at the issues of recycling and sustainability from a sociological perspective. She scientifically concentrates on power relations in North-South partnerships and works as a journalist, with a focus on Brazil.

Mareen developed 'STREETWARE saved item' within our team from January until April 21.

Hatim Alyafi is a studied Business Administrator and Is a Streetartlover. Sustainability.

Life & goods cycle he learned and used in behalf of berlin water works there to discover that money makes the world go round, so he controlled the cash flow well and then turned around and founded NeissCaps.com in editions we grow in artists we invest to get you nicely dressed since he purely wants to express his experiences to let you know how Textil consume can shrink and unity consciousness will grow.

Hatim Alyafi participated between May and July 21 in the implementation of 'Die Dressserie' at Gallery Walden and 'En Plein Air', installation and intervention in the frame of the art festival '48hours Neukölln'.

Franceska Welp develops concepts of artistic research into socio-cultural issues - especially in the thematic area of sustainability - and the question of identity. Her practice is community-oriented and aims to initiate communicative processes through participatory projects.

 

Creating spaces of possibility for reflection on one's own perception, identification and positioning, identity in relation to space and time; the re-exploration of one's own environment are the subject of her work.

Francesca accompanied some of our events as 'carneval for future' and 'Take back the night', a feministic-queer happening and demonstration.

Andreas Herbst joined as a volunteer. His interest is in second-hand clothing. He aims to understand its impact both globally and locally and to shed light on it in a critical and artistic way.
Andreas is studying ethnography, focusing on the urban environment. This leads to questions about how and who is excluded from social spaces and what this means for space and people.

Andreas was at our side from February until June 21

CO-OPERATIONS

EN

LUMPENSAMMLEREI

s

STREETWARE fordert die fast fashion heraus, transformiert weggeworfene Textilien in prêt-à-porter und inszeniert soziale Plastik.

 

„Lumpensammler zogen früher von Dorf zu Dorf und durch städtische Straßen und Gassen. Sie erfragten, erkauften und sammelten Alttextilien, wie auch Stoffreste.“

Wir, die Kreateur*innen und Praktiker*innen von STREETWARE, nehmen diese Tradition wieder auf und philosophieren auf der Kleiderhalde zur ästhetischen Dimension eines menschenwürdigen Daseins.

Nicht nur Textilien werden auf ihre Nachhaltigkeit überprüft, sondern auch Gedankenmodelle und Verhaltensmuster: Können weiß und schwarz zusammengewaschen werden?

Erweist sich die abgestreifte Kleidung als Metapher für eine Gesellschaft, die sich häutet und nach anderen Ökonomien und Wertesystemen sucht? Die aktuellen gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen – Klimaschutz, Pandemie, Migration und Kolonialismus-Debatte als einige unter vielen – rauben uns unsere Selbstverständlichkeiten und konfrontieren uns alle mit unseren Verletzlichkeiten.

s

Es ist Teil des ethischen Konzeptes von STREETWARE zur Ausgestaltung nachhaltiger Normen und de-kolonialisierter Lebensstil-Muster im Diversity-Look beizutragen.

 

Als Lumpensammler*innen ist uns das Material von der Straße Anlass zur Auseinandersetzung mit Fragen der Identität/ des Konsums / Produktionsweisen/ Sozialität/ sowie inspirierende Hülle und Fülle für diverse Formen des Up- und Recycelns. Wir untersuchen, wie sich der Stoff, der von der Straße kommt, im Hinblick auf akuten Bedarf umdeuten lässt:

Für Menschen ohne Obdach, Menschen, die fliehen mussten, Menschen in Not.

Für alle und Jede*n.

Wir bewegen uns generationsübergreifend im Spannungsfeld zwischen Entbehrung und Überfluss.

s

STREETWARE ist Manufaktur und Denkfabrik, Spielstätte und Labor, Werkstatt und Kommunikationsraum, avantgardistischer Waschsalon, inklusiv und extravagant:

STREETWARE (ver)sammelt Ressourcen und gestaltet demokratischen Raum.

 

Seit Januar 2021 lädt STREETWARE alle Repräsentant*innen der Gesellschaft zur Mitwirkung und Mitproduzentenschaft ein. Dafür streben wir Kooperationen mit lokalen Multiplikator*innen an, wir suchen den Kontakt und Austausch mit Wissenschaftler*innen, Recyclingunternehmen, der Textil-Industrie, Kleiderkammern, Soziolog*innen, Philosoph*innen, und Künstler*innen.

Wir sprechen unsere Nachbar*innen an und denken gemeinsam mit Menschen ohne Obdach nach. Wir forschen und arbeiten an der Schnittstelle von Kunst, Politik und Gesellschaft. Wir kooperieren mit Menschen und Initiativen auf Lesbos.

Unsere inhaltlichen Fragestellungen bearbeiten wir mit folgenden Techniken und Produktionsweisen:

 

  • Textile Architekturen – Die Grenzen zwischen privatem und öffentlichem Raum bestehen längst nicht mehr nur aus festen Wänden, sondern manchmal nur noch aus einer Matratze auf dem Bürgersteig, die Passant*innen zum Ausweichen zwingt. Am nächsten Morgen bleiben die Hüllen zurück. Gemeinsam mit Menschen ohne Obdach setzen wir uns damit auseinander.
  • Die große Wäsche – Veranstaltungsreihe mit unterschiedlichen Schwerpunkten, gemeinsamen öffentlichen Waschens von Textilien in Brunnen der Stadt, bzw. mobilen Badewannen. Techniken der Textilbe-, verarbeitung, früher – heute / Expert*innen beleuchten unterschiedliche Aspekte von fashion/ Nachhaltigkeit / Produktionsweisen // 
  • Stadtführungen Als Lumpensammler*innen ziehen wir mit Wäscheständern durch Berlin und sammeln Textilien ein. // Wir laden dich/ Sie dazu ein, uns zu begleiten!

Hoffentlich bald wieder ein kommunikativer Anlass für Picknick, Poetry, Chor & Waschbrett-Musik //

Unsere Lieblingsstücke der Lumpensammlerei präsentieren wir hier

  • Exchange Identity – wie fühlen wir uns, wenn wir Kleidung tragen, die von der Straße kommt? 
  • Eine Reihe Corona-konformer Workshops/ Performances.

  • Im Juli planen wir einen Kongress auf der Kleiderhalde!
    Wenn du/ Sie als Gäst*in teilnehmen möchtest oder als Referent*in, Künstler*in, Macher*in, Denker*in zur Veranstaltung beitragen, dann freuen wir uns über Kontaktaufnahme unter:
    waschsalon@streetware-saved-item.net
  • Das Material dient uns als Ausgangspunkt für Neuschöpfungen, ob als Mode, gewobene Objekte, gestopfte Installationen …. alles ist denkbar.
s

Anfragen, Ideen und neue Kooperationen sind willkommen!

 

LUMPENSAMMLER:INNEN /WÄSCHER:INNEN

barbara caveng ist eine interdisziplinär arbeitende bildende Künstlerin mit Schwerpunkten in der künstlerische Praxis des dreidimensionalen Gestaltens, partizipativer Kunst, Interventionen und Performances.

Zur künstlerischen Arbeit von barbara caveng

Alice Fassina ist eine Kostümbildnerin, deren künstlerischer Ansatz und deren Arbeitsprozessen auf Nachhaltigkeit und Circular Economy beruhen. Ihr Fachwissen über die Alternativen zur Fast Fashion vermittelt sie auch als Guide für Green Fashion Tours.

Jan Markowsky war Ingenieur in der DDR, in Ost- und Westberlin. Kontakt zu Andersdenkenden durch Dissidenten in Jena nach Inhaftierung seines Bruders Bernd nach Inhaftierung im Zusammenhang mit Ausbürgerung Wolf Biermanns und Ostberlin nach Abschiebung Bernds nach Westberlin ein Jahr später. Ausreise nach Berlin-West 1984. Diverse Jobs als Energieberater und Ingenieur für Haustechnik. Im Januar 2000 das Büro nach Streit mit dem Chef verlassen, danach die Wohnung.

Als flexibler und offener Mensch insgesamt gut mit dem Leben ohne Wohnung klar gekommen. Habe Zeit gehabt, mich in Vorbereitung und Nachbereitung eines Essens für Obdachlose zu beteiligen, Theater zu spielen, Vorträge zu halten, in politischen Gremien mitzureden. Nach einigen Jahren regelmäßig Beiträge für das soziale Straßenmagazin „strassenfeger“ verfasst und später beim strassenfeger radio mitgewirkt. In der Zeit oft fotografiert und interviewt worden.
Credo: Ich habe nichts zu verbergen, ich kann mich zeigen!

Lukas Treiber ist Philosoph, freier Kurator und Kunsttheoretiker. In der Tradition der Kritischen Theorie denkt er über die Einflüsse von Negativität auf den Wahrnehmungs- und Erkenntnisprozess von Individuen nach. Sein Hauptinteresse ist es, das Abwesende im Anwesenden aufzuspüren, das scheinbar Unsichtbare am Menschen und den Dingen in den Fokus der Betrachtung/Erfahrung zu rücken. In seinem geplanten Dissertationsprojekt möchte er untersuchen, inwieweit eine „Sprache“ der Kunst dazu beitragen kann, dem scheinbar Unsichtbaren zu mehr Sichtbarkeit zu verhelfen.

 

„STREETWARE ist ein hervorragendes Beispiel für die Wirkweise einer Sprache der Kunst: Durch die Transmission von weggeworfenen Textilien in den Kontext der Kunst, erhalten Dinge, die durch den abwertenden Prozess des Aussortierens auch den Primat in der Wahrnehmung verloren haben, von Neuem Sichtbarkeit. In einem neuen Kontext, werden die Objekte, deren Geschichte, Vielfalt, Potentialität und Kontingenz im „alltäglichen“ Gebrauch verloren gegangen ist, in der Inszenierung rehabilitiert. Dadurch entsteht ein Raum für neue Erfahrungen und Bedeutungszuschreibung. Gleichsam eröffnet sich ein Reflexionsraum zur Auseinandersetzung mit Identität, Mentalität, sozialer Praxis und Gesellschaft. Das Kunstwerk spricht uns an.

Purvi Dhrangadhariya graduierte mit MA. Sustainability in Fashion and Creative Industries. Sie hat sich schon immer für Kunsthandwerk, Textilien und verschiedene Kleidungsstücke und die Geschichte, die sie über Generationen hinweg tragen, interessiert. „Ein wunderschönes, handgefertigtes und verziertes Kleidungsstück, das mit harter Arbeit und Liebe von jemandem hergestellt wurde und das einst dafür sorgte, dass Ihre Mutter oder Großmutter sich selbstbewusst und stilvoll fühlte, landet oft auf der Straße und wird nun langsam durch billige Kleidung ersetzt, die von Fast Fashion angeführt wird, die zwar dem Trend entspricht, aber nicht dem Erbe der Nachhaltigkeit, der Selbstidentität oder der Liebe zu Kleidungsstücken.“

„Mein Interesse gilt der Kleidung, die die Kreativität und Individualität eines Menschen repräsentiert, der sich an diese schnelllebige Welt anpasst.“

Dr. Lina Tegtmeyer ist in Kultur- und Politikwissenschaften promoviert mit einer stadttourismus-kritischen Arbeit zur Vermarktung von Krise als Ästhetisierung von Scheitern von Demokratie in Bildern von Detroit und der Bronx.

Aktuell zeichnet Dr. Tegtmeyer die Welt und erkundet auf diese Weise unter anderem die Grenzen der Wissenschaft und ihre Schattendasein der Aufklärung. Bei STREETWARE saved item wird Dr. Tegtmeyer als freie wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin das Phänomen der Strassenkleidungshalden im Diskurs der internationalen Stadtforschung verankern und das Projekt itself begleitend ethnographisch mit auf-zeichnen.

Aïcha Abbadi untersucht Nischen-Formate und -Methoden für Mode, sowie alternative Wege, sich mit ihr zu beschäftigen. 

An ihren Grenzen zeigt sich ihre Bandbreite auf: narratives Potenzial und Poesie, die komplexen sozialen Beziehungen der Industrie, ethische und ökologische Mängel, sowie Optimismus, Engagement, Hingabe und mögliche Lösungen.

Paolo Gallo ist Fotograf in Berlin.

„Ich bin fasziniert von alltäglichen Situationen. Ich beobachte meine Umgebung auf der Suche nach Inspiration und Expermentation.“  

Franceska Welp entwickelt Konzepte der künstlerischen Untersuchung von soziokulturellen Fragen – insbesondere im Themenbereich der Nachhaltigkeit – und der Frage nach der Identität. Ihre Praxis ist gemeinschaftsorientiert und intendiert durch partizipative Projekte kommunikative Prozesse anzustoßen. 

Die Schaffung von Möglichkeitsräumen zur Reflexion der eigenen Wahrnehmung, der Identifizierung und Verortung, der Identität in Bezug zu Raum und Zeit; die erneute Erkundung der eigenen Umwelt sind Gegenstand ihrer Arbeit.

Andreas Herbst ist die ehrenamtliche Unterstützung. Seine Interesse liegt der Second-Hand Bekleidung. Deren Auswirkung möchte er sowohl global als auch lokal verstehen und kritisch-künstlerisch beleuchten.
Andreas studiert Ethnographie und legt seinen Schwerpunkt dabei auf die urbane Umgebung. Dabei kommen Fragen auf, wie und wer von der gesellschaftlichen Verortung ausgeschlossen wird und was das für den Raum und Menschen bedeutet.

s

Special STREETshopping tour guide

Stella Cristofolini, Kulturwissenschaftlerin & Künstlerin, arbeitet an der Schnittstelle von Theorie/Forschung und sozialer Praxis & interessiert sich für Fundstücke, Alltagsgegenstände, die Stadt aus diversen Perspektiven zu sehen und Praktiken der Wiederverwertung in verschiedenen Gesellschaftssystemen.

s

Menschen, die uns begleitet haben

Mareen Butter betrachtet die Themen Wiederverwertung und Nachhaltigkeit aus einer soziologischen Perspektive. Sie beschäftigt sich wissenschaftlich mit Machtverhältnissen in Nord-Süd-Partnerschaften und ist journalistisch tätig, mit Schwerpunkt auf Brasilien.

Mareen entwickelte STREETWARE saved item von Januar bis April 21 mit uns.

Hatim Alyafi ist kreativer Betriebswirt und Streetartlover.

Nachhaltigkeit und Kreisläufe lehrten in das Berliner Wasser, denn in dessen Auftrag verwaltete er final den Zaster. Nicht nur mit den Erfahrungen als Gründer und Inhaber von NeissCaps.com wird er unterstützen. Als Songwriter und MC kommt er sicher ebenfalls in schwitzen.

Hatim Alyafi setze in den Monaten Mai – Juli 2021 gemeinsam mit uns  ‚Die Dresserie‘ in der Galerie Walden um und ‚En Plein Air‘, Intervention und Installation im Rahmen des Kunstfestivals  48 Stunden Neukölln, 2021.

KOOPERATIONEN

DE