Unique creations and recurring offers: Join us as we explore textile spaces and discover new corners of the metropolis when STREET SHOPPING; become your own literary textile forensic artist, co-create fashion, listen to our podcast, participate in our performances, or book a washing appointment with us.

Come and be our guest!

 

Loading Events

« All Events

VESTITHEQUE

September 15 @ 13:00 - December 15 @ 17:00

Free

THE VESTITHEQUE - STREETWARE saved item - Berlin's most sustainable fashion label - launches its second pop up flagship store in Berlin Neukölln.

Since 15 September, the Vestitheque in the Helene-Nathan library has been offering a spectacular selection of clothes from the streets of Neukölln for three months: STREETWARE at its purest!In our store, people can marvel at, try on and borrow genuine streetwear.

We are here for you: mondays and wednesdays from 13 - 19 h and saturdays from 10 to 13 h.

Why borrowing clothes is fun and trendy? The saved items not only shine with an aestethic of diversity that meets the boldest demands for style people of all stripes will find it here - our clothes contain curiosities mesh wise. The textiles also tell a story: the faded jeans with a used look by Levi's, the leather skirt by Gianni Versace, the knitted jumper by Kickers or the little black dress by Dior take us to China, Bangladesh, Turkey. They recount transcontinental journeys of the people who made the clothes and the bodies that wore them. But they also remind us of the dark side of the fashion industry: low wages, poor working conditions in the Global South, the environmental impact of unsustainable raw material extraction and toxic dyes.

STREETWARE saved item searches for these stories along the streets of Berlin, aims to preserve, archive and publish them so that people can come into contact with them as they would with the heroines of their favourite novels.

 At Helene-Nathan Library stories inform and inspire. This is where we tie in: Trough the narrative of textiles STREETWARE saved item explores the culture of 'discarded clothing' regarding its social significances: the garments shed lights on production methods, consumption and identity.

We invite all urban people and Homini Circularis to our Vestitheque to try on our latest collection!

How about borrowing something? It's the new marketing concept, the modern way of shopping!
Become an influencer with us and join our movement for a wearable future: Degender and decolonise your style! 

Details

Start:
September 15 @ 13:00
End:
December 15 @ 17:00
Cost:
Free
Event Categories:
, ,
Event Tags:
, ,
https://STREETWARE-saved-item.net

Organiser

Stadtbibliothek Helene-Nathan Neukölln
View Organiser Website

Venue

Stadtbibliothek Helene-Nathan Berlin-Neukölln
Karl-Marx Straße 66
Berlin, Berlin 12043 Deutschland
+ Google Map
View Venue Website
EN

Einmalige Kreationen und wiederkehrende Angebote: Erforsche mit uns textile [T]Räume, begleite uns beim STREET-SHOPPING, werde literarische Textilforensiker*in, kreiere mit uns Mode, höre unseren Podcast, nimm an Performances teil oder buche einen Waschtermin.

Sei unsere Gäst:in!

 

Lade Veranstaltungen

« Alle Veranstaltungen

VESTITHEK

September 15 @ 13:00 - Dezember 15 @ 17:00

Kostenlos

DIE VESTITHEK – STREETWARE saved item – Berlins nachhaltigstes Fashion Label eröffnet zum zweiten Mal einen Pop Up Flagship Store in Berlin Neukölln!

Seit dem 15. September bietet die Vestithek in der Helene-Nathan-Bibliothek für drei Monate eine spektakuläre Auswahl an Kleidungsstücken von den Straßen Neuköllns: STREETWARE at its purest! In unserem Store können Menschen waschechte Straßenkleidung bestaunen, anprobieren und ausleihen.

Jeden Montag und Mittwoch von 13- 19 Uhr und samstags von 10-13 Uhr!

Warum die Kleiderleihe Lust macht? Die geretteten Kleidungsstücke strahlen nicht nur durch eine Ästhetik der Vielfalt, die die kühnsten Ansprüche an Stil erfüllt – Menschen jeder Fasson werden hier fündig – die Textilien erzählen auch eine Geschichte: Die ausgeblichene Jeans im Used-Look von Levi´s, der Lederrock von Gianni Versace, der Strickpullover von Kickers oder das kleine Schwarze von Dior führen uns nach China, Bangladesh, Türkei. Sie erzählen von transkontinentalen Reisen, von den Menschen, die Kleidungsstücke hergestellt und von den Körpern, die sie getragen haben. Sie erinnern aber auch an die Schattenseite der Modebranche: Niedriglöhne, schlechte Arbeits-bedingungen im Globalen Süden, die Umweltbelastung durch nicht-nachhaltige Rohstoffgewinnung und giftige Farbstoffe.

STREETWARE saved item sucht auf der Straße Neuköllns nach diesen Geschichten, möchte sie aufheben, archivieren und veröffentlichen, sodass Menschen mit ihnen in Berührung kommen wie mit den Held:innen ihres Lieblingsromans.

 Die Helene-Nathan-Bibliothek ist ein Ort, an dem Geschichten informieren und inspirieren. Hier knüpfen wir an: Durch die Geschichten von Kleidung verhandelt STREETWARE globale sozial-ökologische, ökonomische und ästhetische Fragestellungen. Im Pop Up Store werden Konsum, Produktionsweise, und Identität thematisiert und zur Debatte gestellt.

Wir laden Neugierige, urbane Menschen und Homini Circularis in unsere Vestithek zur Anprobe ein!

„Leih dir was das“ heißt das neue Marketingkonzept, die Ultimative zum Kauf!
Werde mit uns Inflencer:in für eine tragbare Zukunft: Degender and decolonialize your style! 

Details

Beginn:
September 15 @ 13:00
Ende:
Dezember 15 @ 17:00
Eintritt:
Kostenlos
Veranstaltungskategorien:
, ,
Veranstaltung-Tags:
, ,
https://STREETWARE-saved-item.net

Veranstalter

Stadtbibliothek Helene-Nathan Neukölln
Veranstalter-Website anzeigen

Veranstaltungsort

Stadtbibliothek Helene-Nathan Berlin-Neukölln
Karl-Marx Straße 66
Berlin, Berlin 12043 Deutschland
+ Google Karte anzeigen
Veranstaltungsort-Website anzeigen
DE