Unique creations and recurring offers: Join us as we explore textile spaces and discover new corners of the metropolis when STREET SHOPPING; become your own literary textile forensic artist, co-create fashion, listen to our podcast, participate in our performances, or book a washing appointment with us.

Come and be our guest!

 

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

From STREETWARE to Second Hand - The dilemma of clothing

November 18 @ 18:00 - 19:30

Free
STREETWARE X MIVUMBA

STREETWARE X Mivumba: Rose Katusabe | Ruth Faith Nalule | barbara caveng | Regan Ahabwe | Eria Mutawa ©Karen Alecho | Kampala 2021

Join us at 6 pm at the event room at Helene-Nathan Library!

At 'Waschsalon' the 3-G rules apply + Mandatory masks 
Registration at waschsalon@streetware-saved-item.net

SAVE THE DATE!  HIGHLIGHT! 

In the STREETWARE X MIVUMBA collaboration, the trade of second-hand textiles takes us across continents from Europe to Uganda, where we observe the destruction of local markets and textile industries. We, artists, designers, entrepreneurs and local tailors started to cooperate on site.

Together with our colleagues* from Uganda, the writer Beatrice Lamwaka, the fashion designer Ruth Faith Nalule, the photographer Jim Joël Nyakaana and the social entrepreneur Kisitu Aloysius Musanyusa, we discuss the fabrics into which the suffering of the sewers is woven and which - once stripped and discarded - are piling up in Uganda‘s second-hand markets. Among the four artists present, fashion designer Sydney Nwakanma/ founder and creative director of Emeka Suits and Kenneth Musonda, Managing Director of Humana Second Hand Poland, will take part in the panel moderated by barbara caveng
The event will be held bilingually, d/e.

Background
The collaboration of author Beatrice Lamwaka, fashion designer Ruth Faith Nalule, social entrepreneur Kisitu Aloysius Musanyusa, photographer Jim Joël Nyakaana, experts Eria Mutawa & Rose Katusabe, Reagan Ahabwe and Josephine Nakiyimbam & Ssuubi Design developed in June / July 2021 during barbara caveng's artist-in-residency in Kampala & Mpigi as part of the ifa - Institute for Foreign Cultural Relations' Artist:in Contact programme. Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)


Ruth Faith Nalule's creations of 'political haute couture' describe the clash of European second-hand clothing exported to Africa and local manufactured fabric and garments: associations and images are connected, colonial continuity is interrupted:  The pin-up bunny is no longer grinning from the chest of a T-shirt from Japan, but sits fat on the bottom of a dress that fuses a traditional Kitenge cut with an animal print dressing gown from Victoria's Secret, a lumberjack shirt from Germany and a Nike shirt: 'Blood the Body' lettering cut from a fast-fashion shirt, reminiscent of the Black Live Matters movement as underarm cuffs.  Read more 

Many thanks for the generous support by ifa - Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen..

'The Congress on the Clothes Dump' describes a series of events between September and November 2021 dedicated to an inclusive and participatory philosophizing about the meaning of clothes, their production, distribution and consumption. Invited guests and random attendees dig into textonic layers, search for solutions, question the ethics of the second skin. Clothing protects and adorns. It represents basic aesthetic and existential needs, but its mode of production destroys the environment on a large scale and endangers the physical and psychological well-being of the people who cope with the manufacturing processes in socially intolerable conditions. How could sustainable production and economy look like - this is what we want to explore with people from the global - as well as Berlin - North and South in a multi-perspective way.

The Vestithek's offer to borrow garments at the Helene-Nathan Library is accompanied by a framework program. Two lectures, a panel discussion and two hands-on workshops will serve as a starting point for an interdisciplinary exploration of the promises of clothing and fashion - the fabric in which we wrap our dreams and which, in excess, becomes a nightmare for people and the planet.

Details

Date:
November 18
Time:
18:00 - 19:30
Cost:
Free
Event Categories:
,

Venue

Stadtbibliothek Helene-Nathan Berlin-Neukölln
Karl-Marx Straße 66
Berlin, Berlin 12043 Deutschland
+ Google Map
View Venue Website
EN

Einmalige Kreationen und wiederkehrende Angebote: Erforsche mit uns textile [T]Räume, begleite uns beim STREET-SHOPPING, werde literarische Textilforensiker*in, kreiere mit uns Mode, höre unseren Podcast, nimm an Performances teil oder buche einen Waschtermin.

Sei unsere Gäst:in!

 

Lade Veranstaltungen

« Alle Veranstaltungen

  • Diese Veranstaltung hat bereits stattgefunden.

Von STREETWARE zu Second Hand – Das Dilemma der Kleidung

November 18 @ 18:00 - 19:30

Kostenlos
STREETWARE X MIVUMBA

STREETWARE X Mivumba: Rose Katusabe | Ruth Faith Nalule | barbara caveng | Regan Ahabwe | Eria Mutawa ©Karen Alecho | Kampala 2021

Die Veranstaltung findet  um 18 Uhr im Veranstaltungsraum der Helene-Nathan-Bibliothek statt.

Es gelten 3G Regeln + Maskenpflicht. 
Anmeldung unter waschsalon@streetware-saved-item.net

SAVE THE DATE!  HIGHLIGHT! 

In der Zusammenarbeit von STREETWARE X MIVUMBA führt uns der Handel von Second Hand Textilien über die Kontinente hinweg nach Uganda, wir beobachten die Zerstörung von Märkten und kooperieren mit lokalen lokale Schneider:innen und Designer:innen vor Ort.

Gemeinsam mit unseren Kolleg*innen, der Schriftstellerin Beatrice Lamwaka, der Fashion Designerin Ruth Faith Nalule, dem Fotografen Jim Joël Nyakaana und dem Social Entrepreneur Kisitu Aloysius Musanyusa, diskutieren wir den Stoff, dem das Leid der Fast- Fashion Näher*innen eingewoben ist und der sich als abgestreifte Kleiderhüllen auf den SecondHandMärkten Ugandas zur Halde türmt. Neben den anwesenden vier Künstler*innen sind der Modedesigner Sydney Nwakanma, Gründer und Kreativdirektor von Emeka Suits und Kenneth Musonda, Managing Director bei Humana Second Hand Poland mit auf dem Podium. Es moderiert barbara caveng.
Die Veranstaltung findet zweisprachig D/ E statt.

Background
Die Zusammenarbeit der  Autorin Beatrice Lamwaka, der Fashion Designerin  Ruth Faith Nalule, dem Social Entrepreneur  Kisitu Aloysius Musanyusa, dem Fotografen Jim Joël Nyakaana, den Expertinnen Eria Mutawa & Rose Katusabe, Reagan Ahabwe und Josephine Nakiyimbam & Ssuubi Design entwickelte sich im Juni / Juli 2021 während des Artist in Residence Aufenthaltes von barbara caveng in Kampala & Mpigi  im Rahmen des Programmes Künstler:innen Kontakte des ifa – Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen.


Die Kreationen von Ruth Faith Nalule beschreiben den Clash von Europäischer nach Afrika exportierter SecondHand Kleidung mit lokaler Fabrikation in Manufaktur: Assoziationen und Bilder werden verbunden, die koloniale Kontinuität unterbrochen:  Der Pin-Up Hase grinst jetzt nicht mehr aus dem Brustbereich eines T-Shirts aus Japan, sondern sitzt fett auf dem Po eines Kleides, welches einen traditionellen Kitenge-Schnitt mit einem Morgenmantel in Animal Print von Victoria’s Secret, einem Holzfällerhemd aus Deutschland und einem Nike Shirt fusioniert: Der Schriftzug ‚Blood the Body‘  aus einem fast-fashion- Shirt geschnitten, erinnert als Unterarmstulpen an die Black Live Matters – Bewegung.  Mehr dazu ….. 

Wir danken dem ifa für die großzügige Unterstützung des Austausches.

‚Der Kongress auf der Kleiderhalde‘ beschreibt eine Serie von Veranstaltungen zwischen September und November 2021, die einem inklusiven und partizipativen Philosophieren über die Bedeutung von Kleidung, ihrer Produktion, dem Vertrieb und dem Konsum gewidmet sind. Geladene Gäste und zufällig Anwesende schürfen in textonischen Schichten, suchen nach Lösungen, hinterfragen die Ethik der zweiten Haut. Kleidung schützt und schmückt. Sie repräsentiert ästhetische und existentielle Grundbedürfnisse, doch ihre Produktionsweise zerstört in großem Umfang die Umwelt und gefährdet das physische und psychische Wohl der Menschen, die in sozialunverträglichen Verhältnissen die Herstellungsprozesse bewältigen. Wie können nachhaltiges Produzieren und Wirtschaften aussehen – dies wollen wir mit Menschen aus dem globalen – als auch Berliner- Norden und Süden multiperspektivisch erforschen.

Das Angebot der Vestithek in der Helene-Nathan Bibliothek, Kleidung auszuleihen, wird begleitet von einem Rahmenprogramm. Zwei Vorträgen, eine Panel Diskussion und zwei praktische Workshops dienen uns als Ausgangspunkt für eine interdisziplinäre Auseinandersetzung mit den Versprechen und den Verheißungen von Kleidung und Mode – dem Stoff in den wir Träume kleiden und der im  Übermaß zum Alptraum für Mensch und Planeten wird.

Details

Datum:
November 18
Zeit:
18:00 - 19:30
Eintritt:
Kostenlos
Veranstaltungskategorien:
,

Veranstaltungsort

Stadtbibliothek Helene-Nathan Berlin-Neukölln
Karl-Marx Straße 66
Berlin, Berlin 12043 Deutschland
+ Google Karte anzeigen
Veranstaltungsort-Website anzeigen
DE